A Bean in a Sac

Friday 10/21/16

I am 8 weeks and 2 days pregnant today.  The baby is approximately the size of a 2×2 Lego and finally has a little hand!

Luckily I haven’t been sick at all and have had almost no symptoms whatsoever.  Except one night.  The night I was supposed to chaperone the homecoming dance with Drew.  I actually really love doing this!!  Watching the high school kids dance and have fun makes my mind reminisce about my high school days.  I watch students and match them up to who that was at my high school dances.  I stuck it out and lasted the whole football game.  I was so happy that Lisa helped me go get the pizzas for the dance.  But once the game was over and the pizzas were delivered safely, I bailed.  After Drew jumped my car that is.  I accidentally left the keys in it after getting the pizza out.  I had horrible cramps throughout the whole game.  I came home, laid down, and they were gone.

It was September 21st the day we found out we were pregnant.  Our 4 year anniversary was on the 29th.  We went all out for our anniversary!  Made a spaghetti dinner at home and watched New Girl on the couch.  All the while, we pondered and looked up different baby boy names.  It was the best anniversary to date!

That weekend, I was so excited to be sitting on the deck reading books about pregnancy rather than how to make babies.  I soaked it in just like the sun that day, and thanked God over and over.

Our first baby appointment was on Wednesday, October 12th.  I was a little nervous going in.  They don’t tell you what’s going to happen during this appointment or any of them really.  I feel like there should be a layout saying what they do at each one so you can be prepared.  First I had a sonogram. How a sonographer determines what is in there is crazy to me!!  She looked at several things, but it all looked very similar to me.  I asked some questions throughout and she really wasn’t all that friendly.  But then,  we saw the baby for the first time.  So cool!  Even cooler – we could see the heart beat!  She sent us home with a disc of pictures and a little 2 second video where you could actually see the heart beating.  I watched it ovcaptureer and over.  I sent it to my mom and my mother in law.  I always have found it so strange when people show off their sonogram pictures…. Or maybe I’m the weird one because I don’t know how to react.  I mean, it’s not like you say “It’s so cute!”  It looks like a little bean in a sac.  I wasn’t going to be a person that shows off her sonogram pictures.  And there I was…showing it to anyone who asked how my appointment went or how I was doing!  I guess it’s not that weird!!

The next Wednesday, we took some fall pictures.  This was something I was wanting to do with Drew this fall anyways, but was thrilled to be able to do some special ones!  I can’t wait to get them back!

I have been soaking up all of the pregnancy and baby conversations, instances, situations.  Overwhelmingly grateful for each and every one.

2 thoughts on “A Bean in a Sac”

Leave a Reply

