Be Your Own Advocate

Yesterday was the start of another cycle.  I was actually quite surprised with my reaction.  I was not sad or overwhelmingly emotional, but relieved and excited that it came early.  I knew the past cycle was all messed up so I was ready to get on with it!

Over the last few weeks, I’ve really tried to have a more positive and research-ive (not a word) outlook on things.  Here is what has come of it.

Vicki kick-started it for me.  After one of my posts, she asked me to give her a call.  I really needed this pep talk!  She told me about her experience with infertility and encouraged me to really be my own advocate when it came to my health and my fertility.  She encouraged me to research and research, because it helps to be informed going into these doctors appointments and if ever I had a doctor who would not answer my questions – he/she was probably not the right doctor.  I am so lucky to have the best friends in the world and even luckier that my best friends’ moms are so awesome too!! This is why we call Vicki the Queen of Heart-to-Hearts!

After that I marched into the living room and announced to Drew that we needed to start doing our own research and looking things up and asking more questions!  He did a typically Drew thing and searched around on the Internet.  I did the typical Shannon thing and found a book on Amazon.  I started with Infertility: Causes & Treatments.  It was a very short book that just skimmed the surface.  It was just enough to not be overwhelming and to give me some additional knowledge of how things work and the steps that are taken to attempt a diagnosis.

We wrote down our list of questions and the week before visiting Dr. Hogan, I emailed them to her.  She responded, but we felt like she didn’t really answer our questions.  This made me even more anxious about going into our appointment.

Side note: Married life sure hasn’t been easy this last few weeks.  Sometimes it just really sucks that so many topics of conversation center around fertility.  Is it peak time?  Will insurance pay for that? Is that in-network or out-of-network?  I read about high-prolactin, have you been tested for that? What about FSH? Should I get tested for endometriosis? EX-HAUST-TING. At one point, I felt like if we weren’t talking about that we were bickering about something else.  Finally we decided to have a no-bitching week.  We couldn’t be mad at each other or act bitchy.  It has been a much happier week!

I also had a couple of people say something to me about acupuncture.  I was curious about it and got a referral to a chiropractor in Salina, so I gave him a call.  I had three sessions with him 8/11, 8/16 & 8/18.  That’s A LOT of driving to Salina.  The first time I was pretty anxious.  It sort of felt like I was laying tummy down on a pile of thorny stickers.  By the 3rd time, I was much less anxious and tried to enjoy it.  It also helped that I asked him not to stick any needles in my feet! That stung the worst!  I think I’ll continue with this, we’ll see.

Our appointment with Dr. Hogan was on 8/18.  Drew and I both felt like it went well.  We revisited the questions in my email.  I had more knowledge of everything going into the the appointment with all of the reading I’d been doing and we both felt like as we left, we at least had a plan.  She gave us the paperwork to start the referral process to Dr. Hilgers in Omaha where they can do more.  We also plan to get a 2nd opinion from Dr. Ablard in September.

Dr. Hogan is trying to get my thyroid medication just right and now has me on 2 different thyroid medications.  Needless to say I invested in an freakin pill box for the 2 thyroid meds, B6, Mucinex & Fish Oil.  That’s a lot of bottles to open every day!  She also prescribed HCG for my luteal phase in hopes that it will straighten that out.  HCG is a shot I have to give myself! Eek!

I got it in the mail yesterday and was all pumped up to do it!  Drew would be so proud if he came home and I’d already done it!  Plus then he wouldn’t have to give it to me!  Months ago I would have been so afraid of this – but now I don’t even have to lay down to get my blood drawn and I had 60 needles stuck in my body over the last few weeks!  I opened it up and was all confused by how much to draw up into the needle!  Luckily – my backyard neighbor is a nurse so I messaged her to see if she’d come and show me!! She did and I got it done! Didn’t even hurt!

I’m praying that this current cycle is healthier than the last and that it lasts more than 20 days!

2 thoughts on “Be Your Own Advocate”

  1. Hey girl! I will be following your blog, and seeing what I can learn from you and your experiences as my husband and I go through a very similar journey. Good luck and God Bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll be praying for you! Don’t ever hesitate to reach out no matter how weird you think it might be! I’ve been learning that the more I talk about it, the better it is for me emotionally! Everyone is different though. Know that you’re not alone!

      Like

Leave a Reply

